2022-23 call for applications

The Undergraduate Research in Science & Technology Endowment, funded by generous donors and alumni, supports excellence in undergraduate research in fields related to science and technology for students from any major at UC Santa Cruz. To apply you must have a UC Santa Cruz faculty sponsor, and that sponsor must complete an online recommendation for your project.

The deadline for applications has been extended to April 30, 2023.
Amount & use
Award amount: $4,000–5,500 per proposal; multiple awards given

How the funds may be used: Each awardee will receive a $4,000 stipend and may request up to $1,500 in additional funds to cover costs associated with conducting research or presenting research results, such as lab fees, supplies, equipment expenses, travel associated with fieldwork, and costs associated with presenting research at conferences; please create this budget in consultation with your faculty sponsor. These additional funds must be used by the end of the quarter in which the project is completed.

Awards will be announced per the schedule below, with actual funding provided in the quarter when you begin the project, as confirmed by your faculty advisor.

Eligibility & Requirements
Any undergraduate registered and enrolled at UC Santa Cruz who is in good academic standing and will not graduate before the project is completed. If you have questions, please contact the dean’s office at awards.science@ucsc.edu.

All award recipients will be required to provide a handwritten or typed thank-you note and complete a questionnaire for donor stewardship purposes and may be asked to participate in other recognition events. If for any reason you would are able to participate in the recognition activities outlined above, we will work with you on an alternative.


For projects starting in summer or fall of 2023.

  • All materials are due by midnight on Sunday, April 30, 2023
  • Awards will be announced on Monday, May 29, 2023.
Selection criteria
Selection criteria: Proposals will be evaluated based on the quality and strength of the written research proposal, the feasibility of the project, the budget request, and the quality of the faculty recommendation.

Selection process: The Physical and Biological Sciences Undergraduate Award Committee, composed of faculty in the Sciences at UC Santa Cruz, will review the application materials, rank each proposal, and select recipients.

Past recipients


Microbiology & Environmental Toxicology
Sayaka Kozuki
Ocean Sciences
Courtney Stratton


Anthropology, Psychology, Sociology
Tony Estrella
Elise Turkovich
Aisha Lakshman
Biomolecular Engineering
Joseph Cruz
Turvi Sharma
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Daniel Wruck
Cambell Conour
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Madeline Meek
Cara Munro
Jennifer Waldo
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Casey Vigilia
Microbiology & Environmental Toxicology
Alexander Newman
Lilianna Hammons
Michael Payne
Physics & Astrophysics
Austin Dymont
Fénix López
Keanu Graham


Biomolecular Engineering
Sruithi Shiram
Tobin Berger-Cahn
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Jami Clayton
Molecular, Cell, & Developmental Biology
Daniel Nguyen
Cami McKelvey
Microbiology & Environmental Toxicology
Ramin Poustinchi
Ocean Sciences
Miles Miller


Chemistry & Biochemistry
Tarabryn Grismer
Justin Sim
Jodi Lee
Ana Paula Kitos Vasoncelos
Kara Lo
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Jeannie Johnson
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Johanna Leslie King
Cosmo Varah-Sikes
Molecular, Cell, & Developmental Biology
Katrina Haas
Edward Wu
Alexander Bailess
Rafel Nunez
Emily Hoang
Caelum Rodriguez


Astronomy & Astrophysics
Erika Strasburger
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Alfred Freeberg
Ana Paula Kitos Vasoncelos
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Paul Colosi
Ocean Sciences
Destiny Gomez
Anthony Mazzini


Astronomy & Astrophysics
Marina Huang
Catherine Manea
Nick Omahen
Zafar Rustamkulov
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Carolin Wahl
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Emily Carreno
Thomas Dewey
Esther Muñoz
Molecular, Cell, & Developmental Biology
Kareem Bdeir
Shiron Drunsinsky
Edward Kim
Alexis Muñoz
Connie Silva
Radha Thakore
Megan Torgrimson
Nitin Vidyasagar
Robert Wilcox
Joey Wong
Brian Young
Raziq Noorai
How to Apply

How to apply

Completed applications and faculty reference form should both be submitted by the posted deadline. If you have questions, please contact the dean’s office at Science Awards.

The online application form asks for a description of your project in 500 words or less and a budget for your project using the template provided below. The application requires a recommendation from your faculty sponsor, which you should obtain by sending them the faculty recommendation form link. Before you submit your application online, please make sure you have completed your project proposal and budget and have secured your faculty sponsorship.

  1. Application form – Student completes (Some funds are reserved for students who have been in the foster care system or have been wards of the court; use this application form.)
  2. Budget template – Save your own copy, complete it, and then upload it within the application.
  3. Faculty recommendation form – Forward to your faculty sponsor to complete

Application form

Facutly Endorsement